Roles & Capabilities

Why can't I delete a role?

Let’s say you created a custom role and you want to delete it. However, on the AAM page the “Delete” button is greyed out. Why can’t you delete it anymore?

AAM Delete Role Disabled

The simple answer is that AAM prevents from deleting any roles if there is at least one user assigned to it. From the screenshot above, you may notice that the “Power User” role has 1 user assigned to it.

In order to delete a role, follow these steps:

  • Make sure that there are no users assigned to this role. If there are, go to “Users->All Users” WordPress admin page and un-assign all users from the role.
  • Go back to the “AAM” page and on the “Users/Role” widget safely delete the desired role.